Floyd Mayweather Sues FloydMayweather.net
Source: www.celebritysmackblog.com
FloydMayweather.net brazenly tauts itself as the ‘Official Website’ of famous boxer, Floyd ‘Pretty Boy’ Mayweather. However, it’s not.
In fact, Mr. Mayweather has absolutely nothing to do with the site. The site hosts photos, video footage and it says merchandise is ‘coming soon’. Mostly, the site wants you to become a member of it’s ‘official’ fan club for $50.
From FloydMayweather.net:
Your Membership Kit includes:
* Welcome & thank you letter from Pretty Boy Floyd
* Personalized Fan Club credentials
* Exclusive Pretty Boy Floyd logoed t-shirt
* 8×10 glossy of Pretty Boy Floyd in action
The lawsuit was filed in Nevada. Floyd is claiming the domain name is “distinctive and famous.” He is seeking unspecified damages.
Good for him. It’s only fair really. The moron running the site could have been a little smarter about it by not claiming to be ‘official’. I don’t think the fake welcome letter helped much either. It’ll be interesting to see how it goes as there are a sh*tload of similar sites out there.








